Click to Home

Go To Search
Click to Home
Tax Information
City Sales Tax
The City of Wayne has a 1.5% city sales tax that is collected by the State of Nebraska. 

A 1% sales tax was passed by voters in November of 2008 with the taxes collected on the sale of vehicles to be used for street operations.  The remaining balance is split between LB840 - Economic Development projects (40%) and Capital Improvement (60%) projects as determined by city council. This sales tax was approved by a vote of the citizens and will sunset on June 30, 2024.

In the November 2014 General Election, City of Wayne voters approved an additional 0.5% sales tax to be used to finance the construction of a new swimming pool/aquatic center.  The tax is to be collected to pay for bonds not to exceed $2.9 million.  Once those funds have been paid, this sales tax will sunset.

Property Tax
Budget Breakdown
Total Property Tax Breakdown
A common question asked is how much of the total property tax bill goes to the City.

Property taxes are divided up among several different taxing entities. For the 2014-15 fiscal year, the total property tax levy for a house in Wayne was 1.873155.

For an easy example of the breakdown, we'll illustrate the breakdown using a home that is assessed at $100,000. The total property tax bill on that particular house would be $1,873.16. Of that total, $398.34 is allocated to the City of Wayne.

Where does the rest of it go? The majority of the remaining money goes towards the Wayne Community Schools ($1,008.35) and Wayne County ($270.22). The rest of it goes to entities such as the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resource District ($25.11), Educational Service Unit #1 ($15.00), Northeast Community College ($99.00), the Airport Authority ($52.48), and the Wayne County Ag Society ($4.66).   

The City Council sets the city portion of the property tax levy each year during the budget process. Wayne County sets the valuations, sends the property tax statements and collects the taxes.

2014 Tax Levy Breakdown
Wayne Community Schools    
City of Wayne
Wayne County
Northeast Community College
Airport Authority
Lower Elkhorn NRD
ESU #1
Wayne County Ag Society

Hotel Occupancy Tax
The City Council has set a Hotel Occupancy tax at 5%.

Home  |  Calendar  |  Contact Us  |  Translate  |  Accessibility   |  Site Map  |  Wind PoweredWind Powered   |  Copyright Notice   |  Powered by CivicPlus